From 1922 – 1991, The territory of the present day Russia was known as The Russian Soviet Federal Socialist Republic (RSFSR) the largest, wealthiest and the most populated of the 15 constituent union republics of the Soviet Union. At the end of 1991, there was an emergence of 15 newly independent states, representing the former soviet republics and a new political and economical frame work came to existence known as the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

  • Official title of country: The Russian Federation.

  • Capital city: Moscow.

  • Type of Government: Federal.

  • Independence day: June 12th, 1991.

  • Area: 17,075,400 sq. kms. (6.6 million sq. miles)

  • Population: 148,365,800 (January 1994)

  • Major cities: Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Kaliningrad, Vladivostok.

  • Grade of literacy: 99% literacy

  • Language: Russian (official), English (International) with over 100 other languages and dialects.

  • Climate: Continental

  • Currency: Rouble (1 Rouble = 100 kopecks)

  • Local mode of transport: Buses, electric buses, trams, metro, underground local train and taxis.

  • Religious classification: Russian orthodox Christians, Muslims, Jews, Catholic, Protestants, Buddhists, Followers of Krishna & Rama.

  • Medical facilities: Free health care is provided by the government hospitals like American Medical Centre (AMC), the European Medical Centre (EMC), International Medical Clinics (IMC).

  • Clothing: In winter students are expected to carry warm clothes like fur lined leather jackets, woolen sweaters, mufflers, fur lined caps, hang gloves, fur lined warm shoes, and inners.

  • Special facilities for Indians: Russia boasts of Indian stores which sell all Indian food products from dal, achar, flour and all spices required for cooking. Russia also has Indian restaurants and cafes.

Study in Russia Study in Russia